Back to news & events


Call for Nominations 2024 IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award

Posted 17 11 2023

in News

Image: uploads/2023_11/7nmlt78f.png

NOMINATIONS DUE: 15 January 2024

The International Federation of Landscape Architects (IFLA), which represents the worldwide profession of landscape architecture, is soliciting nominations for its Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award.

The Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award is the highest honor that IFLA can bestow upon a landscape architect. The award recognizes living landscape architects whose achievements and contributions have had a unique and lasting impact on the welfare of society and the environment and the promotion of the profession of landscape architecture. The award is bestowed annually on academics or practitioners whose work and achievements are respected internationally.

Nominations can be made by any person anywhere in the world. We also welcome nominations from IFLA member associations, delegates, members, and members of allied professional organizations. Nominations must consist of a brief letter, no longer than three pages, describing the nominee’s qualifications, including a summary of their background and achievements; professional work and/or teaching and publications; and a review of the nominee’s international contributions.

Please submit nominations to the Secretariat for the IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award at Nominations must be received by 15 January 2024. 

Previous winners include YoungSun Jung (2023), Adriaan Geuze (2022), Jala Makhzoumi (2021), Kongjian Yu (2020), Kathryn Gustafson (2019), Anne Whiston Spirn (2018), Dirk Sijmons (2017), Peter Latz (2016), Mario Schjetnan (2015), Sun Xiao Xiang (2014), Gonçalo Ribeiro Telles (2013), Mihály Mőcsényi (2012), Cornelia Hahn Oberlander (2011), Bernard Lassus (2009), and Peter Walker (2005). The Jellicoe Award was initiated in 2004. Please refer to the IFLA website for more information:

The award commemorates the outstanding contributions to IFLA of the President of Honour, Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe (1900–96), who served IFLA as founding president from 1948­–54. Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe was a leading landscape architect with a career spanning almost 80 years. Trained as an architect, Jellicoe devoted his career to landscape architecture after a year-long study tour of Italian renaissance gardens. Jellicoe’s rich contributions include the Kennedy Memorial at Runnymede and the gardens at Shute House, considered some of his greatest works. Jellicoe published over seventeen books including three with his wife and collaborator, Lady Susan Jellicoe. Jellicoe was a founding member and president of the British Institute of Landscape Architects, later the Landscape Institute. He received a knighthood for services to landscape architecture in 1979 and in 1994 was awarded the Royal Horticultural Society’s highest award, the Victoria Medal of Honour.

For further information please contact Gareth Doherty, ASLA, Director of the Secretariat for the IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award in Landscape Architecture at: