Back to news & events


2020 NZ Arb Ronald Flook Award

Posted 21 07 2020

in News

Stacy Colyer, recipient of the 2019 Ronald Flook Award.
Stacy Colyer, recipient of the 2019 Ronald Flook Award.

Nominations now being accepted for the 2020 NZ Arb Ronald Flook Award.

The Ronald Flook Award is an accolade given to elevate and recognise high standards of practice in Arboriculture, including tree raising, tree health and management, and amenity tree protection or design. The recipient will have demonstrated exceptional management of trees, whether functional or aesthetic in any stage of development. NZ Arb have named this award after well-known, Nelson-based Landscape Architect Ron Flook for his tireless contribution to Arboriculture in New Zealand through the Notable Trees Scheme and the development of the Standard Tree Evaluation Method (STEM). This award also recognises the high standard of his professional work and the way he used trees as significant features in his landscape designs. Nominations for this award are called in June of each year, with the successful nominee notified in September.

For more information on the Award, Requirements and Registration process, please click here or refer to