Back to news & events


IFLA Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award 2020

Posted 05 03 2020

in News

Deadline for nominations extended to 10 March

NOMINATIONS DUE: March 10, 2020

The International Federation of Landscape Architects (IFLA), which represents the worldwide profession of landscape architecture, is soliciting nominations for its Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe Award.

Nominations for the 2020 Jellicoe Award must be submitted by March 10, 2020. Nominations can be made by any individual anywhere in the world. Nominations are also accepted from IFLA delegates, individual members, member associations, and allied organizations. Refer to the IFLA website ( for the complete call for nominations, timetable, and submission requirements.

The award recipient will be identified through a nomination and jury selection process. The recipient will be invited to attend the IFLA World Congress, where the winner will be announced, the award will be presented, and the winner will make a presentation of their work. The 57th IFLA World Congress will be hosted in George Town, Penang, Malaysia, 13–15 August 2020, 2020.

Previous winners include Kathryn Gustafson (2019), Anne Whiston Spirn (2018), Dirk Sijmons (2017), Peter Latz (2016), Mario Schjetnan (2015), Sun Xiao Xiang (2014), Gonçalo Ribeiro Telles (2013), Mihály Mőcsényi (2012), Cornelia Hahn Oberlander (2011), Bernard Lassus (2009), and Peter Walker (2005). The Jellicoe Award was initiated in 2004.

The award commemorates the outstanding contributions to IFLA of the President of Honour Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe of Great Britain (1900–96) who served IFLA as founding president from 1948–54. Sir Geoffrey Jellicoe was a leading landscape architect with a career spanning almost 70 years. Jellicoe was a trained architect, but his prime interest was in landscape architecture. Jellicoe’s rich career enabled the creation of many inspiring projects, from Cheddar Gorge to the Kennedy Memorial at Runnymede, thought to be one of his greatest works. He was a founding member, as well as president of the British Institute of Landscape Architects. He was knighted for services to landscape architecture in 1979. In 1994 he was awarded the Royal Horticultural Society's highest award, the Victoria Medal of Honour.

For further information please contact:
Sally Robertshaw
Executive Secretary, International Federation of Landscape Architects