Events Calendar

Thinkers and Doers’ series: Dr Attila Tóth

2 Sep, Zoom Online

Thinkers and Doers’ series: Dr Attila Tóth

CPD points: 0.5

The next speaker in the ‘Thinkers and Doers’ series is Attila Tóth (Slovakia) presenting “Green Infrastructure in Planning and Designing European Cities”.

Dr Attila Tóth is a landscape architect based in Slovakia, with a research focus on green infrastructure planning and design in urban and rural landscapes. He studied in Slovakia and Austria, did research on urban green infrastructure planning in Germany and Austria and conducted two scientific missions in New Zealand. He is assistant professor of landscape architecture at the Slovak University of Agriculture in Nitra, chair of LE:NOTRE Institute and chair of IFLA Europe’s Working Group on Green Infrastructure. He holds the Green Talents Award, two European Council of Landscape Architecture Schools (ECLAS) Awards and the Slovak Science and Technology Award.

Abstract
Urban green infrastructure as a holistic green-space system on one hand and as a planning and design approach on the other hand has gone a long way since Howard's Garden Cities of Tomorrow or Olmsted's Parkways. Today, Green Infrastructure is one of the main environmental and landscape strategies of the European Union, which is currently also supported through the European Green Deal and the new European Union (EU) Biodiversity Strategy. Indeed, green infrastructure is an effective planning and design tool for landscape architects and urban designers to make our cities more sustainable and resilient in the field of climate change mitigation, biodiversity enhancement and food security. The lecture will provide a short historical excursus to the origins of planning urban green systems, an overview of current EU policies in this field and show innovative planning and design strategies and nature-based solutions of green infrastructure in European Cities.

About
‘Thinkers and Doers’ aims at bringing together practitioners, scholars, students and the wider community of landscape architecture and affiliated built environment disciplines to share ideas and to hear the latest innovations in the field. This online series brings together nationally and internationally renowned experts through an initiative between the NZILA Wellington Branch and the Landscape Architecture Programme at Te Herenga Waka—Victoria University of Wellington.

NZILA members: Event Attendance – NZILA CPD 0.5 pts/hr
NZILA Category 3b Public Lecture: 0.5 pts/hr up to two hours per lecture

Date: Wednesday 02 September 2020 
Time: 8am NZ time (or 01 September – 1pm Los Angeles, 4pm New York, 9pm London)

Register online here

Website
Back to What's On