Call for Entries Document

We are pleased to advise that the Call for Entries for the New Zealand Institute of Landscape Architecture Awards 2019 programme is now open. 

We are excited to announce two new categories for 2019. These are;
- the Playgrounds category
Landscape Management award.

The purpose of the awards is to promote the profession of landscape architecture to the New Zealand public and allied professions, and to:

  • Celebrate outstanding work and professional achievements;
  • Recognise benchmarks for best practice;
  • Acknowledge the evolving depth and breadth of landscape architecture practice in New Zealand.

We have retained the Te Karanga o te Tui and the Sustainability awards as separate awards that sit between the general Landscape Design and Planning awards and the Supreme awards. Projects may be put forward specifically for these awards by submitting or may be drawn from general entries at the judges’ discretion. We believe that both Maori culture and values and sustainable practice should be embedded in all the projects we do in New Zealand.

The Enduring Landscape Award, which we are asking landscape architects to nominate from projects that have stood the test of time – a period of 20 or more years.

The process of assessing submissions is largely unchanged from previous years although changes to digital services will make it easier to undertake the preliminary assessing online. The jurors will then convene to ratify finalists using both online techniques and paper submissions. They will then embark on a tour of the finalists’ projects in the case of built and completed works before reconvening again for the final ratification and writing of citations.

We look forward to receiving your entry and seeing you at the Awards Evening. This is to be held in Christchurch in association with the 2019 NZILA conference on the evening of Friday, 8th November 2019.

Click here to view Call for Entries document